Maison Internationale de l’Environnement I
Chemin des Anémones 15
1219 Châtelaine-Genève

Adresse postale

c/o Palais des Nations
1211 Genève 10


+41 22 917 8271


Site web

Réseaux sociaux

Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn | Flickr

In 2012, the Secretariats of the Basel and Stockholm conventions, as well as the UNEP-part of the Rotterdam Convention Secretariat, moved from three separate secretariats with a programmatic structure to a single Secretariat with a matrix structure serving the three conventions.

The Basel Convention on the Control of Transboundary Movements of Hazardous Wastes and their Disposal was adopted on 22 March 1989 by the Conference of Plenipotentiaries in Basel, Switzerland, in response to a public outcry following the discovery, in the 1980s, in Africa and other parts of the developing world of deposits of toxic wastes imported from abroad.

The text of the Rotterdam Convention was adopted on 10 September 1998 by a Conference of Plenipotentiaries in Rotterdam, the Netherlands. The Convention entered into force on 24 February 2004. The Rotterdam Convention is jointly implemented by FAO and UNEP.

The Stockholm Convention on Persistent Organic Pollutants was adopted at a Conference of Plenipotentiaries on 22 May 2001 in Stockholm, Sweden. The Convention entered into force on 17 May 2004, ninety days after submission of the fiftieth instrument of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession in respect of the Convention.


Abiola Olanipekun

Abiola Olanipekun is the Chief of Science and Technical Assistance Branch at the Basel, Rotterdam and Stockholm Conventions (BRS).

Andrea Lechner

Andrea Lechner is a Programme Officer at Basel, Rotterdam and Stockholm Conventions, Governance branch.

Carla Valle-Klann

Carla Valle-Klann is a Programme Officer responsible for National Reporting at the Basel, Rotterdam and Stockholm Convention (BRS).

David Ogden

David Ogden is the Chief of the Governance Branch, Basel, Rotterdam and Stockholm Conventions Secretariat, at the UN Environment Programme.

Florencia Verdi

Florencia Verdi is a Research Assistant at the Basel Rotterdam Stockholm Convention secretariat.

Francesca Cenni

Francesca Cenni is a programme officer of the Science and Technical Assistance Branch and the also focal point for BRS activities in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Kei Ohno Woodall

Kei Ohno Woodall is a Programme Officer for the Science and Technical Assistance Branch and the Governance Branch at the Rotterdam Convention Chemical (BRS).

Lina Fortelius

Lina Fortelius is a Programme Officer of the Scientific and Technical Assistance Branch at BRS.

Melisa T.S. Lim

Melisa Lim is A Programme Officer and the Focal Point to Central and Eastern Europe and Small Islands Developing States (SIDS) at BRS.

Olga Kouko

Olga Kouko is a Programme Management Assistant in the Science and Technical Assistance Branch supporting the implementation of the BRS Norad-1 and Norad-2 projects.

Philomena Joseph

Philomena Joseph is a Team Assistant to the Scientific Support Branch of the Secretariat of the Basel, Rotterdam and Stockholm Conventions.

Rolph Payet

Rolph Payet is the Executive Secretary of the Basel Rotterdam and Stockholm Conventions (BRS).