Water is essential for Earth. Oceans, lakes, seas, and rivers regulate temperatures, absorb carbon dioxide, sustain the livelihoods of billion of people, and host countless species of marine life. Achieving this objective requires bold action to reduce marine pollution and ocean acidification, to conserve and restore marine environments, to promote sustainable fishing, and to enforce efficiently the law of the sea.

See all


Multilateral Environmental Agreements

Basel, Rotterdam and Stockholm Conventions


Multilateral Environmental Agreements

Convention on Wetlands

Ramsar Convention


Intergovernmental Organizations

European Organization for Nuclear Research


GEO Secretariat

Intergovernmental Organizations

Group on Earth Observations


Non-Governmental and Business Organizations

International Organization for Standardization


Non-Governmental and Business Organizations

MAVA Foundation


Multilateral Environmental Agreements

Minamata Convention on Mercury

Minamata Convention on Mercury

Non-Governmental and Business Organizations



Thematic Platforms




Intergovernmental Organizations

UNEP Chemicals and Health Branch

UNEP Chemicals and Health Branch


Intergovernmental Organizations

United Nations Development Programme Office in Geneva

UNDP Geneva

Intergovernmental Organizations

United Nations Economic Commission for Europe



Intergovernmental Organizations

United Nations Institute for Training and Research



Intergovernmental Organizations

United Nations Office at Geneva


Intergovernmental Organizations

World Meteorological Organization


Intergovernmental Organizations

World Trade Organization



Alice Tipping

Alice Tipping is the Director of Trade and Sustainable Development at the International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD).

Brenda Koekkoek

Brenda Koekkoek is a Programme Manager at the Secretariat of the Intergovernmental Negotiating Committee to develop an international legally binding instrument on plastic pollution, including in the marine environment.

Bruno Oberle

Bruno Oberle is the Director General of the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN).

Daniel F. McGinnis

Daniel F. McGinnis is an Associate Professor at the Aquatic Physics Department F.-A. Forel of the University of Geneva.

David Morgan

David Morgan is the Chief of the Science Unit at the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES).

David Vivas Eugui

David Vivas Eugui is a Legal Officer in the Trade, Environment, Climate Change and Sustainable Development Branch of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD).

Dorsa Sheikholeslami

Dorsa Sheikholeslami is a Nature-based Solutions Programme Officer at the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN).

Eva Zabey

Eva Zabey is the Executive Director of Business for Nature.

Ivonne Higuero

Ivonne Higuero is the Secretary-General of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES).

Jay Aldous

Jay Aldous is the Deputy Secretary-General of the Convention on Wetlands.

Jessica Battle

Jessica Battle is the Senior Expert on Global Ocean Policy and Governance and Lead Deep Seabed Mining Initiative at WWF.

Jon Hutton

Jon Hutton is the Director Executive Director for Global Conservation Impact at WWF International.

Juan Carlos Vasquez

Juan Carlos Vasquez is the Chief of Legal Affairs and Compliance at the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES).

Lars Peter Riishøjgaard

Lars Peter Riishøjgaard is Deputy Director of the Infrastructure Department and Director of the WMO Integrated Observing System (WIGOS) Branch.

Luca Chinotti

Luca Chinotti is a Senior Specialist in Multilateral Affairs at WWF.

Marco Lambertini

Marco Lambertini is Special Envoy of WWF International.

Minna Epps

Minna Epps is the Director of IUCN Ocean team.

Musonda Mumba

Musonda Mumba will be the seventh Secretary-General of the Convention on Wetlands, from October 2022.

Otto Simonett

Otto Simonett is the Director of Zoï Environment Network.

Radhika Murti

Director, Global Ecosystem Management Programme

Salman Hussain

Salman Hussain is the Coordinator of the The Economics Ecosystems and Biodiversity (TEEB).

Sofie H. Flensborg

Sofie H. Flensborg is a Programme Officer in the Outreach and Projects Unit of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES).

Sonia Peña Moreno

Sonia Peña Moreno is the Director of the International Policy Centre at the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN).

Stewart Maginnis

Stewart Maginnis is the Deputy Director General in charge of Programme at the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN).

Trevor Sandwith

Director, IUCN Global Protected Areas Programme.